Grinderman 2 – Grinderman

When I tell people about Nick Cave, they usually have no idea who I’m talking about and ask me what does he sound like. I’ve come to the conclusion that the best way to describe Nick Cave is a poet who does lines of coke before getting on a soap box and preaching. Have a backing band play dark blues with a hint of stoner rock and you’ve got yourself Grinderman, Nick Cave’s side project to Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. Cave’s a talented guy and almost a jack of all trades. He hardly ever puts out a bad album, and he even writes screenplays like the Proposition (2005) and a rejected but badass sequel to Gladiator. Dude has skills. And this new Grinderman album, Grinderman 2, shows that he still has a few tricks up his sleeve.

The first Grinderman album was awesome. It had hypnotic guitar riffs, and dark poetic lyrics. Nick Cave has a dark sense of humor, one that he maintains on each album he does. And this album is no exception. Nick’s sarcastic quips come in during the opener’s like “Mickey Mouse and the Goodbye Man” and “Heathen Child”, but what’s different about this album is the instrumentation. “Mickey Mouse and the Goodbye Man” sounds like a mix of a fuzzed out Stooges track and heavy basslines with even heavier drums. “Heathen Child” has a lot of psychedelic elements to it and the music video (which is all sorts of fucked up, but cool) also aides that direction. “Worm Tamer” incorporates some of the distortion and chaos that was evident in songs from the first album like “No Pussy Blues”, but goes in an even darker direction with some sounds that sound like they could have been pulled off a Nine Inch Nails album. The closing track, “Bellringer Blues”, is probably one of the few tracks that represents something that could have been on the first album. With bluesy guitar fills and cool jams, it’s hard not to like it.

The album isn’t without it’s imperfections, but luckily, there are few.  Tracks like “What I Know” and “Evil” are snoozers, but since they’re short, they’re bearable. But just because the album slows down sometimes doesn’t mean it lose momentum completely. “Palaces of Montezuma” is a good example of a soft tracks that works very well. It even reminds me a tiny bit of “Sympathy for the Devil” by the Stones, and that’s not a bad thing.

After a few listens, it’s apparent that this album kicks ass. There’s not many writers or artists out there that make music like this. It’s a shame that no one is willing to make an album this weird/cool, but it also makes the album so much better. It’s like digging through diamonds in shit, which sounds unpleasant, but sometimes you walk away with a gem like this.

Grinderman 2 comes out September 14th on Anti- Records.

Heathen Child

Mickey Mouse and the Goodbye Man

Get It On

No Pussy Blues (live and fucking awesome)

Tour dates:

Sat 25 September – Nottingham Rock City
Mon 27 September – Leeds University
Tue 28 September – Glasgow Barrowlands
Wed 29 September – Manchester Academy
Fri 01 October London Hammersmith Apollo

Mon 4 October – Les Docks Lausanne, SWITZERLAND
Tue 5 October – Volkshaus Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Wed 6 October – Live Milan, ITALY
Thu 7 October – Atlantico Rome, ITALY
Sat 9 October – Krizanke Ljubljana 1000, SLOVENIA
Sun 10 October – Gasometer Vienna, AUSTRIA
Mon 11 October – Muffathalle Munich, GERMANY
Wed 13 October – Haus Auensee Leipzig, GERMANY
Thu 14 October – C-Halle Berlin, Berlin, GERMANY
Fri 15 October – E-Werk Cologne, GERMANY
Sun 17 October – Ancienne Belgique Brussels, BELGIUM
Mon 18 October – Ancienne Belgique – SOLD OUT Brussels, BELGIUM
Wed 20 October – Muziekcentrum Vredenburg Utrecht, NETHERLANDS
Thu 21 October – Docks Hamburg, GERMANY
Sat 23 October – Falkoner Theatre Copenhagen, DENMARK
Sun 24 October – Vaerket Randers, DENMARK
Tue 26 October – Cite de la Music Paris, FRANCE
Thu 28 October – Groningen De Oosterport, Netherlands
Thu 11 November – Phoenix, Toronto, ON
Fri 12 November – Metropolis, Montreal, QC
Sat 13 November – House of Blues, Boston, MA
Sun 14 November – Nokia Theatre, New York, NY
Tue 16 November – 9:30 Club, Washington, DC
Thu 18 November – Variety Playhouse, Atlanta, GA
Fri 19 November – Cannery Ballroom, Nashville, TN
Sat 20 November – Minglewood Hall, Memphis, TN
Mon 22 November – Riviera Theatre, Chicago, IL
Tue 23 November – First Avenue, Minneapolis, MN
Fri 26 November – Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver, BC
Sat 27 November – King Cat Theater, Seattle, WA
Mon 29 November – Warfield, San Francisco, CA
Tue 30 November – Music Box, Los Angeles, CA
Wed 1 December – House of Blues, San Diego, CA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Stuff from the Past

%d bloggers like this: