Deerhunter Announce New Album, “Monomania”

I’ve been waiting on this one for quite a bit. Back in 2010, Deerhunter put out one of the best albums I’ve heard in recent memory, Halcyon Digest. Ever since then, I’ve been waiting for the sequel/spin off to that album or for the band to come through Nashville again (I missed them the last time and have been kicking myself ever since). I never really gave Atlas Sound a chance, cause…well, I don’t know. Chalk it up to laziness or none of you guys dropping that album in my hands/gluing headphones to my ears and making me listen. Either way, I won’t screw the pooch on this one. On May 7th, the band is set to release Monomania on 4AD. While details are scarce on the album here’s what we know:

1. The tracklisting:

1. Neon Junkyard

2. Leather Jacket II

3. The Missing

4. Pensacola

5. Dream Captain

6. Blue Agent

7. T.H.M.

8. Sleepwalking

9. Back to the Middle

10. Monomania

11. Nitebike

12. Punk (La Vie Anté:rieure)

2. “Monomania” means “excessive concentration on a single object or idea.”

3. What their buddies the Black Lips have said about the album:


photo4. That Bradford Cox might be the skinniest dude that doesn’t do heroin.

That’s all I got for now, kids. No tour dates or singles have been announced but given how soon they’ve announced this shit, I’m willing to bet we’ll be hearing a lot more of it soon. Until then, check out one of my favorite tracks from their last album below.

Desire Lines – Deerhunter


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Stuff from the Past

%d bloggers like this: